You don’t have to fix this.

Dear friend,

Things suck for me right now. It’s certainly not the worst, and there are a whole lot of positives for me to celebrate as well, but I am just plain sad and angry. I’m grieving. I truly know I will be okay, and I am so grateful for all the amazing-ness that exists in my life, but simultaneously, I want to punch everything, and there will be tears.

There is nothing for you to do about this. I don’t want you to help me fix this. I don’t need action steps, or solutions, or metaphors. I appreciate them, and I do love that you want to be there for me, but all I really want and need right now is your presence.

I want to be hugged. I want to be snuggled. I want to be cuddled. I want to feel warm and cry into your shirt. You can tell me you love me as many times as there are stars in the sky. You can invite me over to snuggle your animals. You can sit really close to me on the couch as we watch shitty movies. You don’t have to say anything in particular. You don’t have to fix this, because there is nothing to fix.

Thanks for letting me be sad. I love you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

